Wheelchair Basketball League Round Up

25th May 2015

The 2014/2015 Irish Wheelchair Basketball season concluded on Saturday last with Limerick Scorpions deservedly claiming the League title. Losing just once throughout the season the Scorpions still had to defeat Dundalk Ravens to secure the title; and that they duly did on a scoreline of 61-38.

Huge credit to Swifts Left Bank from Kilkenny who pushed Scorpions all the way to the final day to finish league runners up; a loss to the Scorpions just three weeks ago was the decisive result for them which ultimately cost them the title.

The rest of the final days scores were as follows:

NI Knights 82 – 62 Ballybrack Bulls

Shannonside Stealers 45 – 48 Clonaslee

Titans Wheelers 40 – 53 Fr. Mathews

Dundalk Ravens 38 – 61 Limerick Scorpions

Swifts Left Bank 69 – 41 Killester

Limerick Scorpions









At the end of season awards function the following players were honoured:

All Star Awards

Shannonside Stealers Patrick Tierney
Ballybrack Bulls Jonathan Hayes
Clonaslee WBC Lorcan  Madden
Dundalk Ravens Adrian Donoghue
Fr Mathews Derek Hegarty
Limerick Scorpions Joe Hargrow
Killester WBC Barry Cooke
NI Knights Aubrey Bingham
Swifts Left Bank Pat O’Neill
Titans Wheelers Keith  Connolly

All Star Awards









Player of the Year Awards

Best Female Player  of the Year Ashling Duhig Limerick Scorpions
Best Male Player  of the Year Joe Hargrow Limerick Scorpions
Best Able Bodied Player of the Year Loic Bocquet Titans Wheelers
Best Young Player of the Year Jonathan Hayes Ballybrack Bulls
Sportsmanship Award Graham Merrigan Ballybrack Bulls
Most Improved Player the Year Katie Morrow NI Knights


Player Year Awards